top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLevana Hayes

6 small changes you can make to be more sustainable in 2019

Updated: Apr 11, 2019

In 2018, environmental issues were dominating the news, from ocean acidification, plastic pollution to climate change - factors that have been vocalised by Sir David Attenborough in his new docuseries Blue Planet II and by other notable figures in the media.

But with only 12 years to reverse the environmental damages the human race has caused, we should start 2019 by being more sustainable to help prevent dramatic climate change.

Bamboo toothbrush

First off I ditched the plastic toothbrush for a £3.99 bamboo one from Superdrug called the Humble Brush; this way your toothbrush won't fill up the ocean because the bristles are recyclable and the handle can be composted. It's more affordable, biodegradable and does the same job as a plastic brush.

Cut the dryer

As a student, I love having a tumble dryer it makes going weeks on end of no washing that bit easier, I can get everything dry in an instant. But the using the dryer can have a massive impact on your carbon footprint, this can be a waste particularly in the winter when you're already heating your home. Either use the radiators that are heating up your home in the cold months or invest in a clothes airer.

Biodegradable sanitary products

I didn't even know biodegradable sanitary products were a thing until I accidentally came across Natracare only a few weeks ago. They're perfume free, 100% made from cotton with no bleach, and they're very affordable for just £2.08. Or just by the menstrual cup!


Eco-friendly washing detergent

It's plant-based, not tested on animals and uses sustainable palm oil; it's also less than what you would typically go for where washing detergents are concerned. Using eco-friendly washing detergent makes me feel guilt free both as a vegan and as a human being who doesn't want to kill the planet. There are so many options in pretty much any supermarket you walk into, but the Ethical Superstore will deliver to you for far less.

Use a water bottle

It sounds simple but from the moment I paid for a water bottle I was drinking so much more but it also reduced the amount of my plastic waste. My favourite water bottles are the vacuum ones because it's visually appealing but also you can use it for hot and cold drinks with no leaks. Amazon does a great selection of these for less than £10 - so get using those Christmas gift cards!

Purchasing from a market stool

In every student house I've lived in I've either shopped online for my weekly shop or I went into big stores like Tesco. But the house I moved into this year, helped me to discover a fruit and veg market stool nearby which uses little to no plastic. I go there for most of my food which is pretty easy when you live a plant-based diet, and it's cut my spending in half. So, if you have a market near you or you can bike to one I highly recommend making that effort to save costs and to cut down on plastic waste.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page